Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

National Book Award 2018 shortlists announced

In the US, the finalists for the 2018 National Book Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:


  • A Lucky Man (Jamel Brinkley, Graywolf Press)
  • Florida (Lauren Groff, William Heinemann)
  • Where the Dead Sit Talking (Brandon Hobson, Soho Press)
  • The Great Believers (Rebecca Makkai, Fleet)
  • The Friend (Sigrid Nunez, Riverhead)


  • The Indian World of George Washington: The First President, the First Americans, and the Birth of the Nation (Colin G Calloway, OUP)
  • American Eden: David Hosack, Botany, and Medicine in the Garden of the Early Republic (Victoria Johnson, Liveright)
  • Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth (Sarah Smarsh, Scribe)
  • The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke (Jeffrey C Stewart, OUP)
  • We the Corporations: How American Businesses Won Their Civil Rights (Adam Winkler, Liveright)


  • Wobble (Rae Armantrout, Wesleyan University Press)
  • American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin (Terrance Hayes, Penguin Press)
  • Ghost Of (Diana Khoi Nguyen, Omnidawn Publishing)
  • Indecency (Justin Phillip Reed, Coffee House Press)
  • Eye Level (Jenny Xie, Graywolf Press)

Translated Literature

  • Disoriental (Négar Djavadi, trans Tina Kover, Europa Editions)
  • Love (Hanne Ørstavik, trans Martin Aitken, Archipelago Books)
  • Trick (Domenico Starnone, trans Jhumpa Lahiri, Europa Editions)
  • The Emissary (Yoko Tawada, trans Margaret Mitsutani, New Directions)
  • Flights (Olga Tokarczuk, trans Jennifer Croft, Text)

Young People’s Literature

  • The Poet X (Elizabeth Acevedo, Egmont)
  • The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge (M T Anderson & Eugene Yelchin, Candlewick Press)
  • The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle (Leslie Connor, HarperCollins)
  • The Journey of Little Charlie (Christopher Paul Curtis, Scholastic)
  • Hey, Kiddo (Jarrett J Krosoczka, Graphix).

The awards are administered by the US National Book Foundation. Shortlisted titles were chosen from longlists announced in September, including in the inaugural category of translated literature, and winners will be announced on 14 November.

Two lifetime achievement awards will also be awarded: author Isabel Allende will receive the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters and author Doron Weber will receive the Foundation’s Literarian Award for Outstanding Contribution to the American Literary Community.



Category: International news