Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2018 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2018 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:


  • A Long Way from Home (Peter Carey, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Border Districts (Gerald Murnane, Giramondo)
  • First Person (Richard Flanagan, Knopf)
  • Taboo (Kim Scott, Picador)
  • The Life to Come, Michelle de Kretser, A&U)


  • Archipelago (Adam Aitken, Vagabond Press)
  • Blindness and Rage: A Phantasmagoria (Brian Castro, Giramondo)
  • Chatelaine (Bonny Cassidy, Giramondo)
  • Domestic Interior (Fiona Wright, Giramondo)
  • Transparencies (Stephen Edgar, Black Pepper)

Australian history

  • Beautiful Balts: From Displaced Persons to New Australians (Jayne Persian, NewSouth)
  • Hidden in Plain View: The Aboriginal People of Coastal Sydney (Paul Irish, NewSouth)
  • Indigenous and Other Australians Since 1901 (Timothy Rowse, NewSouth)
  • John Curtin’s War: The Coming of War in the Pacific, and Reinventing Australia, Volume 1 (John Edwards, Viking)
  • The Enigmatic Mr Deakin (Judith Brett, Text)


  • Asia’s Reckoning (Richard McGregor, Allen Lane)
  • Mischka’s War: A European Odyssey of the 1940s (Sheila Fitzpatrick, MUP)
  • No Front Line: Australia’s Special Forces at War in Afghanistan (Chris Masters, A&U)
  • The Library: A Catalogue of Wonders (Stuart Kells, Text)
  • Unbreakable (Jelena Dokic & Jessica Halloran, Ebury)

Children’s fiction

  • Feathers (Phil Cummings & Phil Lesnie, Scholastic)
  • Figgy Takes the City (Tamsin Janu, Scholastic)
  • Hark, It’s Me, Ruby Lee! (Lisa Shanahan & Binny Talib, Lothian)
  • Pea Pod Lullaby (Glenda Millard & Stephen Michael King, A&U)
  • Storm Whale (Sarah Brennan & Jane Tanner, A&U)

Young adult fiction

  • Living on Hope Street (Demet Divaroren, A&U)
  • My Lovely Frankie (Judith Clarke, A&U)
  • Ruben (Bruce Whatley, Scholastic)
  • The Ones that Disappeared (Zana Fraillon, Lothian)
  • This is My Song (Richard Yaxley, Scholastic).

The winners in each category will receive $80,000 and the shortlisted writers will each receive $5000. All prizes are tax-free.

The winners will be announced later this year. For more information about the awards, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news