Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

UK Dagger awards 2018 winners announced

The UK Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) has announced the winners of the 2018 Dagger awards.

The winners in each category are:

Diamond Dagger (for an author whose crime writing careers has been marked by sustained excellence, and who has made a significant contribution to the genre)

  • Michael Connelly

Gold Dagger

  • The Liar (Steven Cavanagh, Orion)

Steel Dagger

  • Bluebird, Bluebird (Attica Locke, Serpent’s Tail)

New Blood Dagger

  • Lola (Melissa Scrivner Love, Point Blank)

Gold Dagger for Nonfiction

  • Blood on the Page (Thomas Harding, Heinemann)

Historical Dagger

  • Nucleus (Rory Clements, Zaffre)

International Dagger

  • After the Fire (Henning Mankell, trans by Marlaine Delargy, Harvill Secker)

Short Story Dagger

  • ‘Nemo Me Impune Lacessit’ by Denise Mina in Bloody Scotland (ed by James Crawford, Historic Environment Scotland)

Dagger in the Library (nominated by libraries)

  • Martin Edwards

Debut Dagger (for the opening of a crime novel from a writer without a traditional publishing contract)

  • ‘The Eternal Life of Ezra Ben Simeon’ (Bill Crotty).

The Dagger awards are open to authors of any nationality, for books first published in the UK in English during the judging period. The winners were announced at an awards dinner in London on 25 October.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Australian authors Emma Viskic and Sherryl Clark were shortlisted for this year’s Dagger awards.

To learn more about the Dagger awards, see the website.



Category: International news