Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

YABBAs 2018 winners announced

The winners of the 2018 Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBAs), Victoria’s children’s choice awards, have been announced.

The winning titles are:

Picture storybooks

  • Do Not Open This Book Again! (Andy Lee, illus by Heath McKenzie, Lake Press)

Fiction for younger readers

  • The Bad Guys Episode 5: Intergalactic Gas (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)

Fiction for older readers

  • The 91-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton, Pan)

Fiction for years 7-9

  • The Fall (Tristan Bancks, Random House Children’s).

Meredith Costain was named the 2018 Graham Davey Citation honour recipient, which is presented each year to a book or person that ‘has made an impact on Australian children’s literature’.

The awards were presented at Mernda Central College in Melbourne on 30 October.

The winners were selected from the Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards shortlist, which also acts as a shortlist for the children’s choice awards in the Australian Capital Territory (COOL Awards), New South Wales (KOALAs) and the Northern Territory (KROC Awards).

For more information about the YABBAs, visit the website.



Category: Awards Junior Local news