Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

First authors announced for 2019 Adelaide Writers’ Week

A number of authors have been announced for the 2019 Adelaide Writers’ Week, which runs from 2-7 March 2019.

Among the international authors attending the festival are Nigerian poet and novelist Ben Okri, Canadian novelist Esi Edugyan, Canadian-American psychologist Paul Bloom, Indian novelist and journalist Anuradha Roy, American novelist and essayist Leslie Jamison, British-Pakistani writer and journalist Mohammed Hanif, American poet and author Robin Morgan, New York-based author Sohaila Abdulali, and Iraqi novelist, poet and documentary filmmaker Ahmed Saadawi. Okri will give the inaugural Adelaide Writers’ Week Opening Address on 28 February, to mark the start of the 2019 Adelaide Festival.

Among the local authors announced as part of the program are Chloe Hooper, Jane Harper, Gail Jones, Melissa Lucashenko, Markus Zusak, Megan Davis, Maeve Marsden, Clare Wright, Maria Tumarkin, Stephanie Bishop, Alice Nelson, Leigh Sales, Germaine Greer, Bob Carr, Peter Cochrane, Trent Dalton and Future D Fidel.

A new event series called the Zeitgeist Series will explore contemporary global issues, including sessions on the Corruption of American Leadership; Rage, Rape and Revolution; and Reframing the Future, which looks at whether we need new forms of leadership to address current global challenges.

The 2019 festival is directed by Jo Dyer, who took over from previous director Laura Kroetsch. This year the festival explores the theme of ‘Telling truths’.

The full program will be released in January 2018. For more information, see the website.



Category: Festivals Local news