Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners announced for PM’s literary awards 2018

The winners of the 2018 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • Border Districts (Gerald Murnane, Giramondo)

Australian history

  • John Curtin’s War: The coming of war in the Pacific, and reinventing Australia, volume 1 (John Edwards, Viking)


  • Asia’s Reckoning: The struggle for global dominance (Richard McGregor, Penguin)


  • Blindness and Rage: A Phantasmagoria (Brian Castro, Giramondo)

Children’s fiction

  • Pea Pod Lullaby (Glenda Millard, illus by Stephen Michael King, A&U)

Young adult fiction

  • This is My Song (Richard Yaxley, Scholastic).

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in October.

The winners in each category receive $80,000 and the shortlisted writers receive $5000. All prizes are tax-free.

Winners were announced at a ceremony on 5 December in Canberra. For more information about the awards, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news