Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2019 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:



  • No Friend But the Mountains: Writing from Manus Prison (Behrouz Boochani, Picador)
  • Staying: A Memoir (Jessie Cole, Text)
  • The Arsonist: A Mind on Fire (Chloe Hooper, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Eggshell Skull (Bri Lee, A&U)
  • Miss Ex-Yugoslavia (Sofija Stefanovic, Viking)
  • Axiomatic (Maria Tumarkin, Brow Books)


  • Flood Damages (Eunice Andrada, Giramondo)
  • Tilt (Kate Lilley, Vagabond Press)
  • Milk Teeth (Rae White, UQP)

Young adult

Prize for Indigenous writing


  • The Almighty Sometimes (Kendall Feaver, Currency Press, in association with Griffin Theatre Company)
  • Going Down (Michele Lee, Malthouse Theatre)
  • Barbara and the Camp Dogs (Ursula Yovich & Alana Valentine, Currency Press, in association with Belvoir)

Prize for an unpublished manuscript

  • ‘Wedding Cake Island’ (John Byron)
  • ‘Kokomo’ (Victoria Hannan)
  • ‘Frontier Sport’ (Wayne Marshall).

Judges also highly commended a number of titles across all categories.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 31 January 2019. The winners in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, young adult, and Indigenous writing each receive $25,000, while the winner of the unpublished manuscript prize receives $15,000. All seven of the award categories go on to contest the $100,000 Victorian Prize for Literature. A people’s choice award, worth $2000, will also be announced on the night.

Last year, Melbourne-based writer Sarah Krasnostein won the $100,000 Victorian Prize for Literature for her first book, The Trauma Cleaner: One Woman’s Extraordinary Life in Death, Decay & Disaster (Text).

For more information about the award, see the Wheeler Centre website.



Category: Awards Local news