Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Costa Book Awards 2018 category winners announced

In the UK, the five category winners for the 2018 Costa Book Awards have been announced.

The five winners were chosen from shortlists announced in November 2018. The winning authors each receive £5000 (A$8950) and will be in the running for the £30,000 (A$53,680) Costa Book of the Year award, announced on 29 January.

The category winners are:

First novel

  • The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle (Stuart Turton, Bloomsbury)


  • Normal People (Sally Rooney, Faber)


  • The Cut Out Girl (Bart van Es, Fig Tree)


  • Assurances (J O Morgan, Jonathan Cape)

Children’s books

  • The Skylarks’ War (Hilary McKay, Macmillan Children’s Books).

The Costa Book Awards recognise ‘some of the most enjoyable books of the year’, and is now the only major UK book prize open only to authors based in the UK and Ireland.

For more information, see the Costa Awards website.



Category: International news