Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Updated format revealed for WA Prem’s awards

The Western Australian state government has revealed the new format for the WA Premier’s Book Awards, which has been reinstated as an annual event.

The awards will feature three separate Western Australian awards and one national Indigenous award.

The three Western Australian awards will be:

  • The Western Australian Writing Fellowship ($60,000): designed to assist a WA writer, in any genre, to develop their writing practice
  • The Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer ($15,000): for the first published work, in any genre, by an author residing in WA
  • The Premier’s Prize for Writing for Children ($15,000): to recognise quality writing for children (0-12), in any genre by an author residing in WA.

The $15,000 national Daisy Utemorrah Award is for an unpublished manuscript of junior or YA fiction by an Indigenous author, and is the result of a partnership between the state government and Broome-based Indigenous publisher Magabala Books.

The winners will be announced during the ‘Disrupted Festival of Ideas’ at the State Library of Western Australia in July 2019. Entries are now open, and will close on 18 February 2019. For information about how to apply for the awards, see the State Library of Western Australia’s website.



Category: Awards Local news