Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Penguin Literary Prize shortlist 2019 announced

Penguin Random House (PRH) has announced the shortlist for the 2019 Penguin Literary Prize, worth $20,000.

The prize, now in its second year, aims to find and develop new Australian authors of literary fiction and nonfiction.

The shortlisted authors and their works are:

  • Imbi Neeme for ‘The Spill’
  • Steve Evans for ‘Water and Dust’
  • Christopher Raja for ‘Keysborough’
  • Sue Goldstiver for ‘Little Birds’
  • Kirsten Krauth for ‘Almost a Mirror’.

The shortlist was chosen from more than 400 submissions by a judging panel comprising PRH group publishing director Nikki Christer, publisher Meredith Curnow, Leading Edge customer service manager Ruth Hipwell, Fullers Bookshop assistant manager Tim Jarvis, and Imprints Booksellers director Katherine Woehlert.

The winner, who will receive $20,000 and ‘the potential for publication’ with PRH, will be announced during the annual Leading Edge Books conference in March.



Category: Awards Local news