Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Dalton wins 2019 MUD Literary Prize for debut fiction

Trent Dalton’s Boy Swallows Universe (Fourth Estate) has won the 2019 MUD Literary Prize, awarded to a debut novel.

Dalton receives a cash prize of $3000, which will be presented to him at an event at Adelaide Writers’ Week (AWW) on 7 March.

Dalton was chosen as winner from a shortlist that also included Flames (Robbie Arnott, Text), Dustfall (Michelle Johnston, UWA Publishing) and A Superior Spectre (Angela Meyer, Peter Bishop). Peter Cochrane was highly commended for his novel The Making of Martin Sparrow (Viking).

The MUD Literary Prize is organised by the MUD Literary Club, a not-for-profit association that supports the annual Ubud Writers and Readers Festival and AWW. This year’s judges were AWW director Jo Dyer, Australian author Amy Matthews and MUD Literary Club committee member Andrew Saies.

For more information about the award, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news