Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2019 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2019 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction ($40,000)

  • Saga Land (Richard Fidler & Kári Gíslason, HarperCollins)
  • Deep Time Dreaming: Uncovering Ancient Australia (Billy Griffiths, Black Inc.)
  • The Trauma Cleaner (Sarah Krasnostein, Text)
  • The Erratics (Vicki Laveau-Harvie, Finch Publishing)
  • Axiomatic (Maria Tumarkin, Brow Books)
  • Tracker (Alexis Wright, Giramondo)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000)

  • Interval (Judith Bishop, UQP)
  • I Love Poetry (Michael Farrell, Giramondo Publishing)
  • Things I’ve Thought To Tell You Since I Saw You Last (Penelope Layland, Recent Work Press)
  • Wildlife of Berlin (Philip Neilsen, UWA Publishing)
  • Blindside (Mark Reid, Puncher and Wattmann)
  • Rondo (Chris Wallace-Crabbe, Carcanet Press)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature ($30,000)

Multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)

NSW Premier’s Prize for Translation (biennial award of $30,000)

  • Harry Aveling
  • Stephen Corcoran
  • Alison Entrekin
  • Penny Hueston
  • Stephanie Smee
  • Omid Tofighian(Highly Commended)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5000) 

Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting ($30,000)

  • The Almighty Sometimes (Kendall Feaver, Currency Press)
  • Oil Babies (Petra Kalive, Lab Kelpie)
  • Going Down (Michele Lee, Malthouse Theatre)
  • Lost Boys (Lachlan Philpott, Merrigong Theatre Company)
  • The Long Forgotten Dream (H Lawrence Sumner, Sydney Theatre Company)
  • Barbara and the Camp Dogs (Ursula Yovich & Alana Valentine, Belvoir Theatre)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting ($30,000)

  • Picnic at Hanging Rock, Episode 4 (Alice Addison, FremantleMedia Australia)
  • Jirga (Benjamin Gilmour)
  • Seoul City Sue (Noëlle Janaczewska, ABC Radio National)
  • Mystery Road, Episode 5 ‘The Waterhole’ (Timothy Lee, Bunya Productions)
  • Mystery Road, Episode 1 ‘Gone’ (Michaeley O’Brien, Bunya Productions)
  • Riot (Greg Waters, Werner Film Production).

The winners will be announced at the beginning of the Sydney Writers’ Festival on 29 April. Voting for the People’s Choice Award is open now.

For more information on the awards, see the State Library of NSW website.



Category: Awards Local news