Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Garner honoured for Lifetime Achievement in Literature

Helen Garner has won the Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature.

The Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature ‘acknowledges the achievements of eminent literary writers over the age of 60 who have made an outstanding and lifelong contribution to Australian literature’.

Garner is the author of more than 14 books of fiction and nonfiction, including Monkey Grip, The Children’s Bach, Cosmo Cosmolino, The Spare Room and This House of Grief (all Text).

Garner won the inaugural Melbourne Prize for Literature in 2006 and in 2016 she won the prestigious Windham-Campbell Prize for nonfiction.

The Australia Council Awards annually recognise outstanding and sustained contributions by Australian artists in music, literature, community arts and cultural development (CACD), emerging and experimental arts, visual arts, theatre and dance. Last year’s Lifetime Achievement in Literature award was presented to Bunurong writer Bruce Pascoe.

The recipients will be honoured during a ceremony in Sydney on 4 March.

(Image credit: Nicholas Purcell.)



Category: Awards Local news