Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2019 PRH Literary Prize winner announced

Penguin Random House (PRH) has announced that the winner of the 2019 PRH Literary Prize is The Spill by Imbi Neeme.

Victorian-based Neeme wins $20,000 (which acts as an advance against royalties) and her book will be published in 2020 by PRH publisher Meredith Curnow.

Selected from a pool of more than 400 submissions and a shortlist of five, The Spill begins with a car overturning on a remote West Australian road in 1981. Nobody is hurt, but the impact is felt for decades. The story explores how two people never experience or remember the same event in the same way—especially when they are sisters.

Neeme said, ‘As an emerging writer it means so much to me to have been read, considered and, ultimately, selected for this incredible prize. Following years of stealing whatever time I could to write—often with children hanging off me like Christmas baubles—this prize acknowledges and legitimises my writing in an invaluable way.’

The judging panel included representatives from PRH Australia and Leading Edge Books. PRH group publishing director Nikki Christer said, ‘We are so proud and honoured to publish all of the writers across our Penguin Random House imprints and we are delighted to introduce Imbi Neeme to our literary list.’

The winner of last year’s inaugural prize was Hitch by Kathryn Hind, which is due to be published by Hamish Hamilton in June.



Category: Awards Local news