Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Storylines National Awards 2019 winners announced

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust of New Zealand has announced the 2019 winners of three national awards.

The winning entries in each category are:

Joy Cowley Award for picture book text

  • ‘Mrs Brook’s Chook’ by Janelle Wilkey

Gavin Bishop Award for an unpublished illustrator

  • Amy Haarhoff, to illustrate ‘Ruru and Kiwi’s Midnight Feast’ by Clare Scott

Gaelyn Gordon Award for a book in print for more than five years 

  • The Christmas Caravan by Jennifer Beck, illustrated by Robyn Belton (Scholastic).

The winners were announced at the Storylines National Awards Day in Auckland on 31 March, along with the presentation of the Margaret Mahy Medal and Notable Book Awards.

The winners each receive a cash prize of NZ$1500 (A$1435). In addition, the winners of the Joy Cowley and Gavin Bishop awards will receive an offer of publication by Scholastic NZ and Penguin Random House NZ respectively.

For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Awards Local news