Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Norma K Hemming Award 2019 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2019 Norma K Hemming Award have been announced.

The award is presented by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation for a work of speculative fiction published in 2018 in Australia or written by an Australian citizen that explores the themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability.

For the second year in a row, this year’s Norma K Hemming Award comprises two categories: long works and short fiction.

The books shortlisted for the long work category are:

  • Icefall (Stephanie Gunn, Twelfth Planet Press)
  • City of Lies (Sam Hawke, Bantam)
  • Catching Teller Crow (Ambelin Kwaymullina & Ezekiel Kwaymullina, A&U)
  • The Second Cure (Margaret Morgan, Vintage)
  • Mother of Invention (ed by Rivqa Rafael & Tansy Rayner Roberts, Twelfth Planet Press).

The finalists for the short fiction category (for stories of up to 17,500 words) are:

  • ‘Pinion’ (Stephanie Gunn, Aurum, Ticonderoga Publications)
  • ‘Triquetra’ (Kirstyn McDermott,
  • ‘The Sea-Maker of Darmid Bay’ (Shauna O’Meara, Interzone, TTA Press)
  • ‘With this Needle I Thee Thread’ (Angela Rega, Aurum, Ticonderoga Publications)
  • ‘Shatterglass’ (Susan Wardle, Aurum, Ticonderoga Publications)
  • ‘Knitting Day’ (Jen White, Mother of Invention, Twelfth Planet Press).

The winners will be announced at the Continuum conference in Melbourne on 8 June 2019.

For more information, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news