Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aurealis Awards 2018 announced

The winners of the 2018 Aurealis Awards for the best Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writing published in 2018 have been announced.

The winning titles were:

Best science fiction novel

Best fantasy novel (two winners)

  • City of Lies (Sam Hawke, Bantam)
  • The Witch Who Courted Death (Maria Lewis, Piatkus)

Best horror novel

  • Tide of Stone (Kaaron Warren, Omnium Gatherum)

Best children’s fiction

Best young adult novel

Best graphic novel/illustrated work

Best collection

Best anthology

  • The Best Science Fiction & Fantasy of the Year (Jonathan Strahan, Solaris)

The Convenors’ Award for Excellence (two winners)

The Sara Douglass Book Series Award

  • ‘Blackthorn & Grim’ series (Juliet Marillier, Macmillan)—Dreamer’s Pool (2014), Tower of Thorns (2015), Den of Wolves (2016)

Best science fiction short story

  • ‘The Astronaut’ (Jen White, Aurealis)

Best science fiction novella

  • Icefall (Stephanie Gunn, Twelfth Planet Press)

Best fantasy short story

  • ‘The Further Shore’ (J Ashley Smith, Bourbon Penn#15)

Best fantasy novella

  • ‘The Staff in the Stone’ (Garth Nix, The Book of Magic, Voyager)

Best horror short story

  • ‘Sub-Urban’ (Alfie Simpson, Breach #07)

Best horror novella

  • Crisis Apparition (Kaaron Warren, Dark Moon Books)

Best young adult short story

  • ‘The Sea-Maker of Darmid Bay’ (Shauna O’Meara, Interzone #277, TTA Press).

The winners were announced on 4 May in Melbourne. The full list of 2018 finalists is available here.

For more information about this year’s winners, go to the Aurealis Awards website.



Category: Awards Local news