Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Miles Franklin 2019 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2019 Miles Franklin Literary Award, worth $60,000, has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

A shortlist will be announced on 2 July at the State Library of New South Wales, and the winner announcement will be made on 30 July in Sydney.

‘The 2019 Miles Franklin longlist yet again highlights a mixture of new and established writers. It showcases ten of the most vibrant voices of Australian fiction speaking to us of lives facing, or having endured, some version of extremity. Angry, funny, contemplative and urgent, these voices—which include a galah—explore personal, historical and ecological loss, cultural inheritances and disenfranchisement, and the fraught bonds of friendships, families and communities,’ said State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian Richard Neville, speaking on behalf of the judging panel.

The judging panel also includes journalist for the Australian Murray Waldren, book critic Melinda Harvey, Abbey’s Bookshop senior book buyer Lindy Jones, and author and literary critic Bernadette Brennan.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Michelle de Kretser won the 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel The Life to Come (A&U).


Category: Awards Local news