Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NZ Book Awards for Children and YA 2019 finalists announced

The shortlists for the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Picture book award

  • Mini Whinny: Happy Birthday to Me (Stacy Gregg, illus by Ruth Paul, Scholastic)
  • Puffin the Architect (Kimberly Andrews, Puffin)
  • The Bomb (Sacha Cotter, illus by Josh Morgan, Huia Publishers)
  • Things in the Sea are Touching Me (Linda Jane Keegan, illus by Minky Stapleton, Scholastic)
  • Who Stole the Rainbow? (Vasanti Unka, Puffin)

Esther Glen Award for junior fiction

  • Search for a Kiwi Killer (Des Hunt, Tōrea Press)
  • The Dog Runner (Bren MacDibble, A&U)
  • The Mapmakers’ Race (Eirlys Hunter, illus by Kirsten Slade, Gecko Press)
  • The Telegram (Philippa Werry, Pipi Press)
  • Whetū Toa and the Magician (Steph Matuku, illus by Katharine Hall, Huia Publishers)

Young Adult fiction award

  • Ash Arising (Mandy Hager, Penguin)
  • Children of the Furnace (Brin Murray, The CopyPress)
  • Invisibly Breathing (Eileen Merriman, Penguin)
  • Legacy (Whiti Hereaka, Huia Publishers)
  • The Rift (Rachael Craw, Walker Books)

Elsie Locke Award for nonfiction

  • Art-tastic (Sarah Pepperle, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū)
  • Go Girl: A Storybook of Epic NZ Women (Barbara Else, Puffin)
  • Ko Mauao te Maunga: Legend of Mauao (Debbie McCauley, trans by Tamati Waaka, illus by Debbie Tipuna, Mauao Publishing)
  • New Zealand’s Backyard Beasts (Ned Barraud, Potton & Burton)
  • Whose Home is This? (Gillian Candler, illus by Fraser Williamson, Potton & Burton)

Russell Clark Award for illustration

  • Cook’s Cook: The Cook who Cooked for Captain Cook (Gavin Bishop, Gecko Press)
  • Helen and the Go-Go Ninjas (Ant Sang & Michael Bennett, Penguin)
  • Oink (David Elliot, Gecko Press)
  • Puffin the Architect (Kimberly Andrews, Puffin)
  • The Bomb (Josh Morgan, written by Sacha Cotter, Huia Publishers)

Wright Family Foundation Te Kura Pounamu Award for books written completely in te reo Māori

  • Ngā Whetū Matariki i Whānakotia (Miriama Kamo, trans by Ngaere Roberts, illus by Zak Waipara, Scholastic)
  • Te Haka a Tānerore (Reina Kahukiwa, illus by Robyn Kahukiwa, trans by Kiwa Hammond, Mauri Tū)
  • Te Hīnga Ake a Māui i Te Ika Whenua (Donovan Bixley, trans by Darryn Joseph & Keri Opai, Upstart Press)

Best first book award

  • Art-tastic (Sarah Pepperle, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū)
  • Bullseye Bella (James T Guthrie, Scholastic)
  • Children of the Furnace (Brin Murray, The CopyPress)
  • Slice of Heaven (Des O’Leary, Mākaro Press)
  • The Stolen Stars of Matariki (Miriama Kamo, illus by Zak Waipara, Scholastic).

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Wellington on 7 August.

The winners in each category will receive NZ$7500 (A$7125), except the best first book award winner, who receives NZ$2000 (A$1900). An additional NZ$7500 will be awarded for the overall prize, the Margaret Mahy Book of the Year. For more information, see the website.


Category: Awards Junior Local news