Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2019 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2019 Miles Franklin Literary Award, worth $60,000, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

On behalf of the judging panel, author and literary critic Bernadette Brennan said, ‘The 2019 shortlist showcases a diverse and exciting range of Australian voices and experiences. Each writer has been unafraid to take risks in their narrative, in one or more of structure, subject matter or style. These books celebrate, for the most part, some of the complex, disparate and urgent aspects of contemporary Australian life.’

The judging panel also includes Mitchell Librarian at the State Library of NSW Richard Neville, journalist for the Australian Murray Waldren, book critic Melinda Harvey and Abbey’s Bookshop senior book buyer Lindy Jones.

The shortlist was chosen from a longlist of 10 announced in May. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Michelle de Kretser won the 2018 award for her novel The Life to Come (A&U).

The winner of the 2019 Miles Franklin Literary Award will be announced on 30 July.



Category: Awards Local news