Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Write-ability fellowships 2019 recipients announced

Writers Victoria has announced the recipients of its 2019 Write-ability fellowships.

The following five emerging writers with disability were awarded the fellowships:

  • Alex Creece for ‘Neurodifficult’, a collection of experimental poems on the lived experience of autism
  • M J McArthur for ‘Invisible’, a creative nonfiction memoir on chronic illness
  • Jessica Obersby for ‘In:Human’, a speculative YA novel about identity, mental health and adolescence
  • Leah Robertson for a collection of lyrical nonfiction poems on trauma and survival
  • Paul Whitby for a collection of short fiction, incorporating magic realism and dirty realism.

Each fellow will receive tailored support for their writing project in the form of mentoring, manuscript assessment and/or attendance at Writers Victoria workshops.

Now in its seventh year, the fellowship received a record number of applications. Judge Andy Jackson said, ‘There were so many applications that showed great promise—these are stories that need to be told, and it was an honour to be entrusted with such thoughtful and passionate writing.’

Three writers were highly commended by the judges: Erica Cervini for ‘Yizkor for Rose: A Life Lost and Found’, Arty Owens for ‘Eve of Rebellion’, and Joanne Penney for ‘Spiders and Butterflies’.

For information on the Write-ability fellowships, visit the Writers Victoria website.


Category: Awards Local news