Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ruby romance award 2019 finalists announced

The finalists for the Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year Award, known as ‘the Ruby’, have been announced.

The finalists in each category are:

Contemporary romance

  • The Wedding Obsession (Madeline Ash, Tule Publishing)
  • A Convenient Bride for the King (Kelly Hunter, Harlequin)
  • On the Right Track (Penelope Janu, Mira)
  • The House at Flynn’s Crossing (Elisabeth Rose, Escape)
  • Bittersweet (Jacquie Underdown, Escape)

Historical romance

  • The King’s Obsession (Tanya Bird, self-published)
  • Marry in Scandal (Anne Gracie, Jove)
  • The Devilish Duke (Maddison Michaels, Amara)

Romantic elements

  • Hearts of Resistance (Soraya M Lane, Lake Union Publishing)
  • Tangled Vines (Megan Mayfair, Crooked Cat Books)
  • Happy Ever After (Joanne Tracey, self-published)

Speculative romance

  • Cursed (Keri Arthur, KA Publishing)
  • Edge of Eon (Anna Hackett, self-published)
  • Moon Bound (Leisl Leighton, Escape)

Romantic suspense

  • Glass Clouds (Suzanne Cass, self-published)
  • Mission: Her Protection (Anna Hackett, self-published)
  • Undercover Fighter (Aislinn Kearns, self-published).

The winners will be announced on 10 August at the RWA conference in Melbourne. All finalists will go into the running for the overall Romantic Book of the Year Award, chosen by a panel of industry professionals.

For more information, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news