Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2019 Kill Your Darlings (KYD) Unpublished Manuscript Award has been announced.

The shortlisted authors and their works are:

  • Shelley Burr for ‘Wake’ (fiction)
  • Lisa Emanuel for ‘The Covered Wife’ (fiction)
  • Matt Millikan for ‘This American Carnage’ (fiction)
  • Sam van Zweden for ‘Eating with My Mouth Open’ (nonfiction).

Each shortlisted author will receive the week-long KYD/Varuna Copyright Agency Fellowship, while the winner, to be announced in October, will receive $4000.

The shortlist was chosen from a longlist of eight works announced earlier this month. The judging panel comprises KYD publishing director Rebecca Starford, Allen & Unwin publisher Jane Palfreyman and the 2018 award winner Nicole McAlinden.

For more information about the shortlisted works, see the KYD website.


Category: Local news