Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ned Kelly Awards 2019 longlists announced

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the longlists for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing.

The longlisted titles in each category are:

Best first fiction

  • Half Moon Lake (Kirsten Alexander, Bantam)
  • The Practice Baby (L M Ardor, self-published)
  • The Portrait of Molly Dean (Katherine Kovacic, Echo)
  • The Ruin (Dervla McTiernan, HarperCollins)
  • The Yellow House (Emily O’Grady, A&U)
  • Call Me Evie (J P Pomare, Hachette)
  • Greenlight (Ben Stevenson, Michael Joseph)
  • Lonely Girl (Lynne Vincent McCarthy, Macmillan)
  • The Nowhere Child (Christian White, Affirm)

Best crime

  • The Rip (Mark Brandi, Hachette)
  • Kill Shot: A Wyatt Thriller (Garry Disher, Text)
  • Gone by Midnight (Candice Fox, Bantam)
  • The Spotted Dog (Kerry Greenwood, A&U)
  • Scrublands (Chris Hammer, A&U)
  • The Lost Man (Jane Harper, Macmillan)
  • The Other Wife (Michael Robotham, Hachette)
  • Preservation (Jock Serong, Text)
  • Under Your Wings (Tiffany Tsao, Viking)
  • Live and Let Fry (Sue Williams, Text)

Best true crime

  • Trace: Who killed Maria James? (Rachael Brown, Scribe)
  • The Arsonist (Chloe Hooper, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Eggshell Skull (Bri Lee, A&U)
  • Southern Justice (Colin McLaren, Hachette)
  • Siege: Inside the Lindt Cafe (Deborah Snow, A&U)
  • The Prisoner: How One Woman’s Jail Term was the Making of Her (Kerry Tucker with Craig Henderson, William Heinemann)
  • The Court Reporter (Jamelle Wells, ABC Books)
  • Waiting for Elijah (Kate Wild, Scribe).

The shortlists for each category will be announced ahead of the winners ceremony on Friday, 6 September at the BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival.

For more information about the longlist, visit the ACWA website.


Category: Awards Local news