Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NT Literary Awards 2019 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Northern Territory Literary Awards have been announced.

The winners in each category are:

Short story award ($1000)

  • ‘Centring’, by Glen Hunting

Poetry award ($1000)

  • ‘Lyapirtneme/No return’, by Susan Fielding

Creative nonfiction award ($500)

  • ‘Still Flossing’, by Roland Bull

Essay award ($500)

  • ‘The Effects of Online Sexual Activity on Adolescent Development and its Implications for Northern Territory Middle and Secondary Schools’, by Jacob Fajzullin

Kath Manzie youth award ($600)

  • ‘A Liar’s Colour’, by Elisha Pettit

Flash fiction award ($600)

  • ‘The Colours of an Arm’, by Lee Frank

Theatre award ($1000)

  • ‘One More Hour’, by Mary Anne Butler.

The NT Literary Awards celebrate the unpublished work of established and emerging writers in the Northern Territory and are presented annually by the Northern Territory Library. The winning and shortlisted works have been published in an annual publication available free in printed form at the library, or online.

The winners were announced at a ceremony in Darwin on 24 July. As well as prize money, winners receive an annual membership to the NT Writers Centre and free admission to a masterclass.

For more information, see the NT Library website.


Category: Awards Local news