Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlists for 2019 NSW Premier’s History Awards announced

The State Library of NSW (SLNSW) has announced the shortlists for the 2019 NSW Premier’s History Awards.

The shortlisted works in each category are:

Australian history prize

  • Taking Liberty: Indigenous Rights and Settler Self-government in Colonial Australia, 1830-1890 (Ann Curthoys and Jessie Mitchell, CUP)
  • The Bible in Australia: A Cultural History (Meredith Lake, NewSouth)
  • Found in Translation: Many Meanings on a North Australian Mission (Laura Rademaker, University of Hawaii Press)

General history prize

  • The Big Four: The Curious Past and Perilous Future of the Global Accounting Monopoly (Stuart Kells and Ian D Gow, La Trobe University Press)
  • Progressive New World: How Settler Colonialism and Transpacific Exchange Shaped American Reform (Marilyn Lake, Harvard University Press)
  • Sea People: The Puzzle of Polynesia (Christina Thompson, HarperCollins)

NSW regional and community history prize

  • Callan Park, Hospital for the Insane (Sarah Luke, Australian Scholarly Publishing)
  • Hunter Wine: A History (Julie McIntyre and John Germov, NewSouth)
  • Cage of Ghosts (Jon Rhodes, Darkwood)

Young people’s history prize

  • Message in a Sock (Kaye Baillie, illus by Narelda Joy, MidnightSun)
  • The Upside-down History of Down Under (Alison Lloyd and Terry Denton, Penguin)
  • I Am Sasha (Anita Selzer, Penguin)

Digital history prize

The winner in each category will receive $15,000. The awards are judged by an independent committee of academics, historians and other sector professionals who have been appointed by the Premier, the minister for the arts or their delegates. This year, eight judges considered 150 entries across the five prize categories.

The winners will be announced at an event at the SLNSW, as part of the launch of NSW History Week on 30 August. For more information, click here.



Category: Awards Local news