Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Colin Roderick Award 2019 shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s Colin Roderick Award, administered by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies at James Cook University, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Sun Music: New & Selected Poems (Judith Beveridge, Giramondo)
  • Boy Swallows Universe (Trent Dalton, Fourth Estate)
  • The True Colour of the Sea (Robert Drewe, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Death of Noah Glass (Gail Jones, Text)
  • Dinner with the Dissidents (John Tesarsch, Affirm).

The $20,000 award is presented to the author of the title the judges determine is the best book published in Australia in the previous calendar year that deals with ‘any aspect of Australian life’.

The winner, who will be announced on 31 October, will also receive the silver H T Priestley Memorial Medal.

For more information, visit the website here.


Category: Local news