Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

RWA awards 2019 winners announced

The winners of the 2019 Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year awards, known as the Ruby Awards, were announced on 10 August at the RWA conference in Melbourne.

The winners included:

Contemporary romance

  • On the Right Track (Penelope Janu, Mira)

Historical romance

  • The Devilish Duke (Maddison Michaels, Amara)

Romantic elements

  • Tangled Vines (Megan Mayfair, Crooked Cat Books)

Speculative romance

  • Cursed (Keri Arthur, KA Publishing)

Romantic suspense

  • Undercover Fighter (Aislinn Kearns, self-published).

The Valerie Parv Award for an unpublished romance novel went to Nette Neville for ‘Meeting in the Middle’, the Lynn Wilding Meritorious award for service to RWA went to Danielle Line, and an honorary life membership was awarded to Amy Andrews.

The Roma in Media Award (ROMA), which recognises professional, positive media coverage of the romance industry, was presented to Lauren Sams for ‘The New Romantics’ (Elle magazine)

Also on the night, Angie Martin was announced as the inaugural recipient of Harlequin’s First Nations Fellowship for her entry ‘Melaleuca’.

RWA also announced that next year’s conference will run from 14–16 August at Esplanade Hotel by Rydges in Fremantle, WA.

For more information about the awards, see the RWA website.



Category: Awards Local news