Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA Awards 2019 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each of the categories are:

Older readers


Honour books

Younger readers


  • His Name Was Walter (Emily Rodda, HarperCollins)

Honour books

Early childhood


  • Tricky’s Bad Day (Alison Lester, Affirm)

Honour Books

  • Heads and Tails: Insects (John Canty, Berbay)
  • Here Comes Stinkbug! (Tohby Riddle, A&U)

Picture book


Honour books

  • The Mediterranean (Armin Greder, A&U)
  • The All New Must Have Orange 430 (Michael Speechley, Viking)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books


  • Sorry Day (Coral Vass, illus by Dub Leffler, NLA)

Honour books

  • The Happiness Box: A Wartime Book of Hope (Mark Greenwood, illus by Andrew McLean, Walker)
  • Make Believe: M. C. Escher for Kids (National Gallery of Victoria)

Crichton Award for debut illustrator

  • Daniel Gray-Barnett for Grandma Z (Scribble).

Chosen from shortlists announced in March, the winning books were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 16 August. Also announced was the Nan Chauncy Award, a biennial award for outstanding contribution to Australian children’s literature, which was presented to children’s author James Moloney.

This year’s Children’s Book Week runs from 17–23 August with the theme ‘Reading is my Secret Power’.

For more information about the CBCA Awards and Children’s Book Week, visit the CBCA website.



Category: Awards Junior Local news Special Bulletin news