Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Local writer, artist among Hugo Awards winners

The winners of this year’s Hugo Awards, presented annually by the World Science Fiction Convention, have been announced.

Australian Foz Meadows won in the Best Fan Writer category and Australia-based Filipina artist Likhain (Mia Sereno) won in the Best Fan Art category. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce and Tansy Rayner Roberts (Galactic Suburbia podcast) and Jonathan Strahan (The Coode Street podcast) were nominated for Best Fancast.

Also among the winners were The Calculating Stars (Mary Robinette Kowal, Tor) for best novel; ‘Wayfarers’ (Becky Chambers, Hodder) for best series; Artificial Condition (Martha Wells, Tor) for best novella; and The Books of Earthsea: The Complete Illustrated Edition (Ursula K Le Guin, illus by Charles Vess, Gollancz) for best art book.

For the full list of winners, click here.



Category: Awards Local news