Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Readings announces 2019 New Australian Fiction Prize shortlist

Readings has announced the shortlist for its 2019 New Australian Fiction Prize.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • A Constant Hum (Alice Bishop, Text)
  • Inappropriation (Lexi Freiman, A&U)
  • The Flight of Birds (Joshua Lobb, Sydney University Press)
  • A Superior Spectre (Angela Meyer, Ventura)
  • This Taste for Silence (Amanda O’Callaghan, UQP)
  • The Glad Shout (Alice Robinson, Affirm).

This year’s judges were Readings events manager Christine Gordon, Readings St Kilda manager Sharon Peterson, Readings Carlton senior staff member Amanda Rayner and Readings’ head book buyer Alison Huber. Readings managing director Mark Rubbo and 2018 winner Jennifer Down will join the panel to select the winner.

The award, now in its sixth year, recognises ‘exciting and exceptional new contributions to local literature’ and is open to ‘first or second published works of fiction by Australian authors’. Previous winners are Jennifer Down’s Pulse Points (Text), Sam Carmody’s The Windy Season (A&U), Zoë Morrison’s Music and Freedom (Vintage), Stephanie Bishop’s The Other Side of the World (Hachette) and Ceridwen Dovey’s Only the Animals (Penguin).

The winner of the $3000 award will be announced in late October. For more information, see the Readings blog.



Category: Awards Local news