Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Best wins 2019 Thomas Shapcott Prize

Poet Luke Best has won the 2019 Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize for his manuscript ‘Cadaver Dog’.

Best receives $2000 and a publishing contract with University of Queensland Press (UQP), which will publish the book in 2020.

The prize was established in 2003 in honour of Queensland poet Thomas Shapcott, and is awarded annually for the best unpublished manuscript.

The award was presented on 22 August at the Queensland Poetry Festival (QPF). Several other awards were also presented, including the $2000 Oodgeroo Noonuccal Indigenous Poetry Prize, which went to Jeanine Leane; the $1000 Val Vallis Award for an unpublished poem, which went to Damen O’Brien; the $1000 XYZ Prize for innovation in spoken word, which went to Fable Goldsmith; and the $500 Philip Bacon ‘Ekphrasis’ Award, which was awarded to three joint winners: Jane Frank, Damen O’Brien and Claire G Coleman.

For more information about the awards, visit the QPF website.



Category: Awards Local news