Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners of the Ned Kelly Awards 2019 announced

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the winners for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing.

The winning titles in each category are:

Best first fiction

  • The Ruin (Dervla McTiernan, HarperCollins)

Best crime

  • The Lost Man (Jane Harper, Macmillan)

Best true crime

The ACWA’s deputy chair, Robert Goodman, said the awards ‘continue to celebrate the strength of the Australian crime writing scene’. ‘This year, the judges praised Jane Harper’s atmospheric and evocative outback mystery; Dervla McTiernan’s assured, complex and engaging procedural debut; and Bri Lee’s nuanced, impactful and important memoir.’

The winners were announced on Friday, 6 September at the BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival. They were chosen from a shortlist announced last month and a longlist announced in July.



Category: Awards Local news