Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Richell Prize 2019 longlist announced

Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) have announced the longlist for the 2019 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

The longlisted works are:

  • ‘Where the Lost Boys Go’ (Sarah Fiddelaers)
  • ‘The Nameless’ (Tee Linden)
  • ‘The Blind Pussy Cat’ (Sara El Sayed)
  • ‘An Allergy’ (Sunil Badami)
  • ‘The Counterpart’ (Ruby Todd)
  • ‘In Real Life’ (Allee Richards)
  • ‘Thawed Waters’ (Delila Bevan Zavadsky)
  • ‘White Foam’ (Yannick Thoraval)
  • ‘The Lady Detective’ (January Gilchrist)
  • ‘The Earth Starts Talking’ (Ayla Black)
  • ‘The Reset’ (Simon Robertson)
  • ‘Nearly Curtains’ (Else Fitzgerald)
  • ‘Capstone’ (Josiah Slough)
  • ‘The Fundraiser’ (Kylie Orr)
  • ‘The Ultimate’ (Justin Hamilton)
  • ‘The Inlet’ (Heather James)
  • ‘The Book of Eels’ (Christine Kearney)
  • ‘The Glorious Madness’ (Jacqueline Winn)
  • ‘We’ll Meet Again’ (Lauren Draper)
  • ‘The Ultimate’s Sister’ (Jennifer Carlisle)
  • ‘The City’s Heart’ (Daniel Ryan).

Now in its fifth year, the Richell Prize was created in memory of former Hachette CEO Matt Richell, who died in 2014.

The judges are author and Richell’s widow Hannah Richell, Hachette publisher Robert Watkins, author Sarah Schmidt and Potts Point Bookshop bookseller Steve Sines.

The longlist was chosen from over 700 entries. Applicants were required to submit the first three chapters and a synopsis of a proposed work of adult fiction or narrative nonfiction, with the winner to receive $10,000 and a 12-month mentorship from a Hachette publisher to help develop the work to publication.

The shortlist will be announced on 7 October and the winner will be announced in Sydney on 8 November. For more information, see the EWF website.



Category: Awards Local news