Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Multiple wins for McTiernan, Harper and Lee

Australian women crime writers have cleaned up at the Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing and—predictably—the Davitt Awards for crime books by Australian women. The multiple winners were Dervla McTiernan for her debut novel The Ruin (HarperCollins), Jane Harper for The Lost Man (Pan) and Bri Lee for her true crime book Eggshell Skull (Allen & Unwin).

Australian independent bookseller Readings has announced the shortlist for its New Australian Fiction Prize, which recognises ‘exciting and exceptional new contributions to local literature’ and is open to first or second works. The shortlisted titles are: A Constant Hum (Alice Bishop, Text), Inappropriation (Lexi Freiman, Allen & Unwin), The Flight of Birds (Joshua Lobb, Sydney University Press), A Superior Spectre (Angela Meyer, Ventura), This Taste for Silence (Amanda O’Callaghan, UQP) and The Glad Shout (Alice Robinson, Affirm).

The ‘Nib’ Literary Award, which recognises the role of research in fiction and nonfiction, has delivered an all-nonfiction shortlist. The shortlisted titles are: An Unconventional Wife: The life of Julia Sorrell Arnold (Mary Hoban, Scribe), Imperfect: How our bodies shape the people we become (Lee Kofman, Affirm), Her Mother’s Daughter: A memoir (Nadia Wheatley, Text), The Arsonist (Chloe Hooper, Hamish Hamilton), Dr Space Junk vs The Universe: Archaeology and the future (Alice Gorman, NewSouth) and Steve Smith’s Men (Geoff Lemon, Hardie Grant).


Category: Think Australian newsletter Award-winners