Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Longlists for Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes announced

The longlists for the Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes have been announced.

The longlisted works and their authors are:

Tasmania Book Prize for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre ($25,000)

  • An Unconventional Wife: The life of Julia Sorell Arnold (Mary Hoban, Scribe)
  • Bridget Crack (Rachel Leary, A&U)
  • Flames (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • Into the World (Stephanie Parkyn, A&U)
  • Island Story: Tasmania in object and text (Danielle Wood and Ralph Crane, Text)
  • Kindred: A Cradle Mountain love story (Kate Legge, MUP)
  • Maatsuyker through our eyes: Caretaking on Tasmania’s wild and remote Maatsuyker Island (Paul Richardson and Amanda Walker, 40 Degrees South)
  • On the Ossie: Tasmanian osmiridium and the fountain pen industry (Nic Haygarth, 40 Degrees South)
  • The Vandemonian War: The secret history of Britain’s Tasmanian invasion (Nick Brodie, Hardie Grant)
  • Towards Light & Other Poems (Sarah Day, Puncher & Wattmann)

Margaret Scott Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • Conglomerate (Ben Walter, A Published Event)
  • First Person (Richard Flanagan, Penguin)
  • Flames (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • Going Down Gordon Brown: with poems by Andrew Mackirdy (Alice Nunn, Ginninderra Press)
  • Miss Lily: A portrait of the artist Curzona Allport (Marina Jameson, Fullers)
  • Star-crossed (Minnie Darke, Michael Joseph)
  • The Balfour Correspondent (James Dryburgh, Bob Brown Foundation)
  • The Curious Life of Krill: A conservation story from the bottom of the world by (Stephen Nicol, Island Press)
  • The Pleasures of Leisure (Robert Dessaix, Knopf)
  • The Weight of Light (Kristen Lang, Five Islands Press).

The shortlists for the awards, including the prize for an unpublished literary work and the Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship, will be announced at the Readers and Writers Weekend in Hobart on 11 October.

The biennial Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes, previously known as the Tasmanian Literary Prizes, were rebranded in 2017.

For more information about the awards, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news