Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Zobi and the Zoox: A story of coral bleaching’ awarded Whitley Medal 2019

Royal Zoological Society of NSW has announced the winner of the 2019 Whitley Awards, presented for outstanding publications that profile the unique wildlife of the Australasian region.

The Whitley Medal, presented to an outstanding title in any category, was awarded to Zobi and the Zoox: A story of coral bleaching (Ailsa Wild, Aviva Reed, Briony Barr & Gregory Crocetti, CSIRO Publishing).

Commended titles include:

Young children’s book

  • Leonard the Lyrebird (Jodie McLeod & Eloise Short, King Street Press)

Children’s book

  • The Great Lizard Trek (Felicity Bradshaw & Norma MacDonald, CSIRO Publishing)

Conservation biology

  • A Bat’s End: The Christmas Island pipistrelle and extinction in Australia (John Woinarski, CSIRO Publishing)

Illustrated guide

  • A Guide to Native Bees of Australia (Terry Houston, CSIRO Publishing)

Natural history

  • Reptiles of Victoria: A guide to identification and ecology (Peter Robertson & A John Coventry, CSIRO Publishing)

Young naturalists

  • Faunaverse: Wildlife in poetry Tasmania (Alexander and Jane Dudley, Faunaverse)

Field guide

  • Reptiles and Amphibians of New Zealand: A field guide (Dylan van Winkel, Marleen Baling and Rod Hitchmough, Auckland University Press)

Historical zoology

  • Australia’s First Naturalists: Indigenous peoples’ contribution to early zoology (Penny Olsen & Lynette Russell, NLA Publishing).

More information about the awards can be found here.


Category: Awards Junior Local news