Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlists for Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes announced

The shortlists for the 2019 Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes have been announced.

The shortlisted works and their authors are:

Tasmania Book Prize for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre ($25,000)

  • Bridget Crack (Rachel Leary, A&U)
  • Flames (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • Island Story: Tasmania in object and text (Danielle Wood and Ralph Crane, Text)
  • Towards Light & Other Poems (Sarah Day, Puncher & Wattmann)

Margaret Scott Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • Conglomerate (Ben Walter, A Published Event)
  • Flames (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • Star-crossed (Minnie Darke, Michael Joseph)
  • The Curious Life of Krill: A conservation story from the bottom of the world (Stephen Nicol, Island Press)

University of Tasmania Prize for the best unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • ‘The People’s Park’ by Stephenie Cahalan
  • ‘The Signal Line’ by Brendan Colley
  • ‘The Clinking’ by Susie Greenhill

Tasmanian young writer’s fellowship

  • Priscilla Beck
  • Sam George-Allen
  • Hannah Warwarek.

Voting for the People’s Choice Awards is also now open.

The shortlists were announced at the Readers and Writers Weekend in Hobart on 11 October. The longlists for the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize were announced in September.

The biennial Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes, previously known as the Tasmanian Literary Prizes, were rebranded in 2017.

The winners will be announced on 5 December at an event at Government House. For more information about the prizes, visit the website.


Category: Awards Local news