Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Deborah Cass Prize 2019 shortlist announced

The shortlist for Writers Victoria’s Deborah Cass Prize for emerging writers from migrant backgrounds has been announced.

The shortlisted authors and their works are:

  • Deniz Agraz for ‘Rosewater’
  • Michelle Almiron for ‘El Cuco and Her Faithful Oso’
  • Antoinette Bauer for ‘Bermuda Triangle’
  • Janette Chen for ‘Wall of Men’
  • Tinashe Jakwa for ‘Nothing but the Queen’s English’
  • Vicky Karitinos for ‘Lady Diana’
  • Anna Kortschak for ‘Pieces of Nothing’
  • Mary Manias for ‘Burning Tyres by the Linden Tree’
  • Brian Obiri-Asare for ‘The Eclipse of the Sun’
  • Belinda Paxton for ‘Clinging to Space Hardware’.

Entrants were judged on a 3000-word extract from an unpublished manuscript that ‘reflects at least in part on the migrant experience’. The winning author will receive $3000 and a three-month mentorship with an established writer, and Black Inc. will ‘consider the resulting manuscript’ for publication.

Writers Victoria director Angela Savage said: ‘This prize offers a critical link for writers from a migrant background who otherwise have difficulty accessing publishers. It’s pleasing to see such a diversity of stories that contribute new perspectives to our culture, including a growing African voice.’

The judging panel for the award comprises authors Melanie Cheng and Lee Kofman, and lawyer Nyadol Nyuon.

The 2019 winner will be announced at an event in Melbourne on 4 December.

For more information, visit the Deborah Cass Prize website.


Category: Awards Local news