Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners announced for PM’s Literary Awards 2019

The winners of the 2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each category are:



  • Half the Perfect World: Writers, dreamers and drifters on Hydra, 1955–1964 (Paul Genoni & Tanya Dalziell, Monash University Publishing)

Australian history

  • The Bible in Australia: A cultural history (Meredith Lake, NewSouth)


  • Sun Music: New and selected poems (Judith Beveridge, Giramondo)

Children’s fiction

  • His Name Was Walter (Emily Rodda, HarperCollins)

Young adult fiction

  • The Things That Will Not Stand (Michael Gerard Bauer, Omnibus).

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in September.

The winners in each category receive $80,000 and the shortlisted writers receive $5000. All prizes are tax-free.

Winners were announced at a ceremony on 23 October in Canberra. For more information about the awards, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news