Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners of 2019 YABBAs announced

The winners of the 2019 Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBAs), Victoria’s children’s choice awards, have been announced.

The winning titles are:

Picture storybooks

  • Seriously Do Not Open This Book (Andy Lee, illus by Heath McKenzie, Lake Press)

Fiction for younger readers

  • The Bad Guys Episode 7: Do-you-think-he-saurus? (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)

Fiction for older readers

  • The 104-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton, Pan)

Fiction for years 7-9

  • Maybe (Morris Gleitzman, Viking).

Author and illustrator Gabrielle Wang received the 2019 Graham Davey Citation honour, which is presented each year to a book or person that ‘has made an impact on Australian children’s literature’.

The awards were presented at Camberwell Girls Grammar in Melbourne on 29 October.

The winners were selected from the Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards shortlists, which also act as shortlists for the children’s choice awards in the Australian Capital Territory (COOL Awards), New South Wales (KOALAs) and the Northern Territory (KROC Awards).

For more information about the YABBAs, visit the website.


Category: Awards Junior Local news