Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

UNESCO announces 11 new cities of literature

UNESCO has announced 11 additional cities of literature among 66 newly designated creative cities.

The new cities of literature are:

  • Angoulême (France)
  • Beirut (Lebanon)
  • Exeter (UK)
  • Kuhmo (Finland)
  • Lahore (Pakistan)
  • Leeuwarden (Netherlands)
  • Nanjing (China)
  • Odessa (Ukraine)
  • Slemani (Iraq)
  • Wonju (South Korea)
  • Wrocław (Poland).

UNESCO director-general Audrey Azoulay said, ‘All over the world, these cities, each in its way, make culture the pillar, not an accessory, of their strategy.’ UNESCO said in a statement that creative cities are ‘championing sustainable development actions that directly benefit communities at an urban level’.

The announcement brings the total number of cities of literature to 39, among a creative cities network of 246 cities. Melbourne has been a city of literature since 2008 and celebrated its 10th anniversary last year. Dunedin in New Zealand was designated a city of literature in 2014.

View the full list of newly designated creative cities here.



Category: International news