Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Queensland Literary Awards 2019 winners announced

The winners of the 2019 Queensland Literary Awards (QLAs) have been announced.

The winning titles in each category are:

Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of state significance ($25,000)

Fiction ($15,000)

Nonfiction ($15,000)

  • An Unconventional Wife: The life of Julia Sorrell Arnold (Mary Hoban, Scribe)

Children’s ($15,000)

Young adult ($15,000)

History ($10,000)

  • An Unconventional Wife: The life of Julia Sorrell Arnold (Mary Hoban, Scribe)

Steele Rudd Award for a short story collection ($10,000)

  • Zebra: And other stories (Debra Adelaide, Picador)

People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year ($10,000)

  • Adani, Following Its Dirty Footsteps: A personal story (Lindsay Simpson, Spinifex)

QUT Digital Literature Award ($15,000)

Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a poetry collection ($10,000)

  • Blakwork (Alison Whittaker, Magabala)

Glendower Award for an emerging Queensland writer ($15,000)

  •  ‘Henry Hamlet’s Heart’ by Rhiannon Ratcliffe Wilde

Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards (two awards of $12,500 each)

  • Ella Jeffery
  • Ellen van Neerven

Queensland Writers Fellowships ($15,000 each)

  • Claire Christian, for ‘The Invisibles’
  • Sarah Holland-Batt, for ‘Spiral Separator’
  • Emily O’Grady, for ‘Feast’.

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony at the State Library of Queensland on 12 November.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, in October the judges announced they wouldn’t choose a shortlist or winner for this year’s David Unaipon Award, presented to an outstanding manuscript by an unpublished Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander writer.

The QLAs are managed by the State Library of Queensland, which took over from the volunteer QLA Committee in 2014. For more information about the awards, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news