Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Bridget Crack’ wins 2019 Tasmania Book Prize

The winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes have been announced.

The winning works and their authors are:

Tasmania Book Prize for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre ($25,000)

  • Bridget Crack (Rachel Leary, A&U)
  • People’s choice: Bridget Crack

Margaret Scott Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • Flames (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • People’s choice: Star-crossed (Minnie Darke, Michael Joseph)

University of Tasmania Prize for the best unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • ‘The Signal Line’ by Brendan Colley
  • People’s choice (joint winners): ‘The People’s Park’ by Stephenie Cahalan & ‘The Clinking’ by Susie Greenhill

Tasmanian young writer’s fellowship ($5000)

  • Sam George-Allen.

The winners of the biennial prizes were chosen from shortlists announced in October. For more information, visit the website.


Category: Awards Local news