Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

SLNSW 2020 fellowships announced

The State Library of NSW (SLNSW) has announced the eight recipients of its 2020 research fellowships, including the inaugural Dr A M Hertzberg Fellowship, which examines ‘the impact of globalisation on Australian industry’.

The recipients and their projects are:

Coral Thomas Fellowship ($100,000)

  • Sally Young for Sworn to No Masters: A corporate and political history of Australian newspapers 1941–2021, which investigates the political and corporate power of Australia’s various newspaper dynasties, and follows on from her recent book Paper Emperors: The rise of Australia’s newspaper empires (UNSW Press).

Dr A M Hertzberg Fellowship ($20,000)

  • Ben Huf for Colonial Liquidity: Making money in early New South Wales, which will explore how Australia’s monetary system evolved over time, and eventually integrated Australia into the financial embrace of the English economy.

C H Currey Fellowship ($20,000)

  • Rebecca Jones for Drought, Flood, Heat and Dust: Living with extreme weather in arid Australia, which will look at collections including papers of the Royal Flying Doctor Service and the Australian Inland Mission to understand the way people have encountered, and adapted to, extreme weather events in Australia.

Nancy Keesing Fellowship ($20,000)

  • Sophie Robinson for Lesbian Sydney in the 1990s, which will explore Sydney’s emerging lesbian subculture as it became increasingly politically active and organised.

Australian Religious History Fellowship ($20,000)

  • Clare Monagle for Christian Consciousness Raising: Magdalene Journal and Australian feminism, which will investigate how the Magdalene Journal served as an incubator of an emerging Christian feminism, and how it reflects upon the push by many women to be allowed to participate in the highest positions of authority within their various faith communities.

David Scott Mitchell Memorial Fellowship ($12,000)

  • Jarrod Hore for Grounding Colonial Science: William Branwhite Clarke in the field 1839–78, which will explore the archive of a leading colonial geologist, and reflect on how he saw and wrote about the Australian landscape, and the impact those responses generated in his thinking about science.

Merewether Scholarship ($12,000)

  • James Boyce for The Macquarie Years: the context for colonial Australia, which will look at competing visions of what the colony could be—Macquarie’s peasant farmers or the free settlers’ pastoral vision—overlaid with the conflict around the subsuming of Aboriginal land. This will be explored in the context of recent contention over the Appin massacre in 1816.

Ross Steele AM Fellowship ($12,000)

  • David Hansen for Pictures in the Collections of the State Library of New South Wales, which will investigate the individual histories of items in the Library’s vast pictorial collections by focusing on the acquisition and/or exhibition of 50 to 100 representative works.

Fellows will have exclusive access to the library’s Fellows Room and special access to library staff.

For more information, see the SLNSW website.

(Pictured L–R: James Boyce, Sally Young, Ben Huf, Sophie Robinson, Clare Monagle, David Hansen, Jarrod Hore, Rebecca Jones.)


Category: Local news