Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Brown wins 2020 MUD Literary Prize for debut fiction

Sienna Brown’s Master of My Fate (Vintage) has won the 2020 MUD Literary Prize, awarded to a debut novel.

Brown receives a cash prize of $3000, and will be presented with the award at an event at Adelaide Writers’ Week (AWW) on 2 March.

Brown was chosen as winner from a shortlist that also included The Artist’s Portrait (Julie Keys, Hachette), A Lifetime of Impossible Days (Tabitha Bird, Viking), Fusion (Kate Richards, Hamish Hamilton) and Heart of the Grass Tree (Molly Murn, Vintage).

The MUD Literary Prize is organised by the MUD Literary Club, a not-for-profit association that supports the annual Ubud Writers and Readers Festival and AWW. This year’s judges were AWW director Jo Dyer, Australian author Amy Matthews and MUD Literary Club committee members Andrew Saies and David Sly.

For more information about the award, see the website.


Category: Awards Local news