Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Overland announces Judith Wright Poetry Prize shortlist

The shortlist for the 2019 Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for new and emerging poets has been announced.

The nine shortlisted poems are:

  • ‘Chinny chin chin’ (Grace Yee)
  • ‘Eulogy for Hasan’ (Alan Fyfe)
  • ‘Kurnell’ (Luke Patterson)
  • ‘Love, surveillance, cross-infection’ (Rose Hartley)
  • ‘Government steals my rain’ (Gareth Morgan)
  • ‘No alarms’ (Dan Hogan)
  • ‘No language for white man’ (Lou Garcia-Dolnik)
  • ‘So Long to the Tropics’ (Naomi Cammayo)
  • ‘Felicity Conditions’ (Ursula Robinson-Shaw).

This year’s judges are Ellen van Neerven, Michael Farrell and Overland poetry editor Toby Fitch.

The winner receives $6000, the first runner-up is awarded $2000 and the second runner-up receives $1000. The three poems will be published in the first issue of Overland for 2020 in late March.

For more information, see the Overland website.



Category: Awards Local news