Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature winners announced

The winners of the 2020 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, presented biennially by the South Australian government, have been announced.

The winning titles are:

Premier’s Award for best overall published work ($25,000)

  • Nevermoor: The trials of Morrigan Crow (Jessica Townsend, Lothian)

Children’s literature award ($15,000)

  • Nevermoor: The trials of Morrigan Crow (Jessica Townsend, Lothian)

Young adult fiction award ($15,000)

  • Small Spaces (Sarah Epstein, Walker Books)

Fiction award ($15,000)

  • The Death of Noah Glass (Gail Jones, Text)

John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

  • Archival-Poetics (Natalie Harkin, Vagabond Press)

Nonfiction award ($15,000)

  • The Bible in Australia: A cultural history (Meredith Lake, NewSouth)

Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($12,500)

  • ‘Forgiveness’ by Piri Eddy

Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)

  • ‘In the Room with the She Wolf’ by Jelena Dinic

Max Fatchen Fellowship for a young South Australian writer ($15,000)

  • ‘The Rainbow Thief’ by Sally Heinrich

Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship for a South Australian writer ($15,000)

  • ‘Liable’ by Aidan Coleman.

The winners, chosen from shortlists announced in December last year, were presented at a ceremony at Adelaide Writers’ Week on 29 February.

For more information, visit the State Library of South Australia website here.


Category: Awards Local news