Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Penguin Literary Prize shortlist 2020 announced

Penguin Random House (PRH) has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Penguin Literary Prize, worth $20,000.

The prize, now in its third year, aims to find and develop new Australian authors of literary fiction and nonfiction.

The shortlisted authors and their works are:

  • Morna Seres for ‘Cloud Failure’
  • Mick McCoy for ‘Catch a Panther’
  • Sophie Overett for ‘The Rabbits’
  • Rachel Watts for ‘In the Morning I Rise’
  • Katelin Farnsworth for ‘Found Again’
  • Hayley Scrivenor for ‘The Push Back’.

The shortlist was chosen from more than 400 submissions, with PRH Australia publishing director Justin Ractliffe saying the prize had a record number of submissions this year.

The winner, who will receive $20,000 and ‘the potential for publication’ with PRH, will be announced on 17 June.


Category: Awards Local news