Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘There Was Still Love’ wins 2020 Indie Book of the Year

Favel Parrett’s novel There Was Still Love (Hachette) has been named Book of the Year at the 2020 Indie Book Awards, presented by Leading Edge Books (LEB).

The winning titles in each category are:



  • Tell Me Why (Archie Roach, S&S)

Debut fiction

Young adult


  • The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Ugly Animals (Sami Bayly, Lothian)

Illustrated nonfiction

  • The Lost Boys: The untold stories of the under-age soldiers who fought in the First World War (Paul Byrnes, Affirm).

The Indie Book Awards are chosen by independent booksellers to reward and promote excellence in Australian writing. Panels of judges comprising booksellers and readers chose the winners in the six categories, and the overall Indie Book of the Year was voted on by independent booksellers from Australia, who are also members of Leading Edge Books.

The overall winner receives $1000 and the category winners each receive $1000. The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in January and announced online on Monday, 23 March following the postponement of the 2020 LEB Conference, which was scheduled to run 22–24 March.

For more information about the awards, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news